Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 6, 2010, 1:09 PM   #1

Default Just bought a Sony DSC-H20 ... Need a wider angled lens.

Well, I recently got inspired to pick up creative photography; you know, motion shots, landscapes, macro shots of insects/small objects etc.

I understood the H20 didn't have the widest of lenses, but I didn't think it would be a big deal since I "read" it could use add on lenses to achieve a different focal length.

Take the below shot for instance ... I don't know if the H20 can achieve this sort of wide angle due to it's rather narrow 38mm lens. If it can't, I don't mind buying an add on lens to compensate (can anyone recommend one)

Also, how does the add on lens affect the overall focal length of the camera ... I know the H20 is 38mm by default ... So an add on lens will effectively shorten this focal length to achieve a wider angle? I'm confused

I'm a beginner, and I wanted a camera with a manual mode so I could understand (through practice and tinkering with settings) the physics behind photography. I thought the H20 was a good starting camera.
akin_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 6, 2010, 1:24 PM   #2

Well . That's a spectacular photo. Even more if it's one of your first picks. Congratulations.
Ordo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2010, 1:33 PM   #3

Oh but I didn't take that shot, I'm a beginner that hopes to be able to take shots like that one day.

I'm wondering whether there's an add on lens that can give my H20 a wider angle like that (looking for recommendations).

Moreover, I would like to know how the new/resultant focal length is calculated. I mean, if I attach a lens to cameras of differing focal lengths ... They won't end up with the same shortened focal length will they? How does a photographer know the resultant focal length his or her camera has with an add on lens?

Thanks.
Old May 6, 2010, 1:37 PM   #4

akin-