Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 7, 2010, 8:37 AM   #1

Default First DSLR

I've been reading on this topic for the last week, but still i haven't been able to make a choice.

I'll start by saying that i'm a student. So I am on a quite tight budget. Sub 1000$ for a kit is a must.

I'm interested majorly in sports photography. Indoors (Basketball, handball) and outdoors (Football, soccer). I also need to make good portraits at parties, in low light conditions (Adding a flash?)

I've been looking at the Canon 1000D (XS), Pentax K-X, and Nikon 5000D.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

PS: How important is warranty? Is it worth the extra 100-150$?

Thanks
Ishay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2010, 10:07 AM   #2

ishay-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

Users who are new to DSLR cameras is a popular topic. However, I must caution you that indoor sports, like basketball require upgraded equipment that will no doubt, very quickly exceed your $1,000 budget. indoor sports require wide aperture, long zoom lenses as well as the need to quickly and accurately focus in a lower light environment. Those are the two biggest reasons making indoor sports more expensive to shoot.

The Canon XS/1000D, Pentax Kx, and Nikon D-5000 DSLR cameras all come with consumer level low/narrow aperture lenses with very low zoom capability making then good for family shots, and well lighted photos, using short range flash when necessary.

So based on your plans, you are going to need the DSLR body (around 1/2 of your budget) with at least two specialized lens for sports and low light portraits which could take another $1,000, plus a good external flash, another $$350 to $450.00 in cost. That totals $1,950.00. So you are going to have to re-think some of your subjects and/or budget.

Good luck in your search.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2010, 10:44 AM   #3