Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 9, 2010, 12:27 PM   #1

Default Indoor sports shooting to outdoor wildlife .suggestions on lenses and body

Hello ,i am a newbie here .I have read threads on here and there seems to be a mountain of information to be had .I will ask for comments /suggestions from anyone has wants to share their knowledge about my specific needs.

The past couple years i've been using and s5is and it has been a great camera for the most part . Where it really falls short is in shooting pictures at the hockey rink .unless i am on the ice and can use the flash the picures are very grainy.Also in my quest for the ultimate clarity and sharpness i feel it's time to step it up. With very little technical knowledge on cameras and lenses (and needing video to replace my rarely used dvd camcorder ) i've narrowed my search to the t2i.Mainly would like to stick with Canon because of familiarity and excellent service i have gotten with them .

the main thing i really want to improve on is the indoor hockey shots. that seems to be the most elusive for my s5is. I do bowhunt and often find myself inside 20-30 yards of wildgame (deer , bears , turkey) and would love to take breathe taking photos of them as well. Of course there is going to be the candid shots of my 4 children playing in the yard and playing soccer and baseball as well as portriat type shots. I am really looking for quality photos .i am on a budget (wifey sez) so i need to start with a camera and starting lenses but will build on my package as i can (trading up lenses ) any advice?
jmp2204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2010, 1:14 PM   #2