Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 12, 2010, 12:02 PM   #1

Default Pls help me find the best camera for me.

I am new here and I have no experience or knowledge on cameras other than using point and shoot cameras for my kids.
I am looking to buy my first somewhat decent camera. And I need help from the experts.
Here is what I am looking for.
1. Good vibrant picture color/good overall picture quality (I realize it will also depend on my ability to take a good picture )
2. Least lag time. I would like to be able to take pictures fast. I am tired of missing the best pictures of my 2 year old toddlers.
3. Large zoom (I am hoping for 8x or more)
4. I take pictures both in daylight and at home in low light conditions (mostly pictures of my kids and I would also use this camera for vacation time for outdoor pictures)
5. A good panoramic picture capability would be nice but not a deal breaker.
6. Must be able to shoot a video (and can zoom in and out while shooting the video)
7. It would be nice if the camera is compact but again it is not a deal breaker. Features are more important to me than the size.
8. Low noise
And most importantly the price cannot exceed $250 (If it is an extra ordinary camera, I might be able to push up to $300 but I would like to avoid that if I can)
I am open to all brands/models and would like to hear your advise.
Thank you for your time.
TwiceBlessed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 12, 2010, 12:27 PM   #2

TwiceBlessed-

Welcome to the Forum. We're delighted that you dropped by.

With your $250 budget you are going to find very slim pickings. The are a lot of DSLR like qualities wrapped in to your requirements. Some compromises are needed or perhaps an increased budget.