Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 13, 2010, 7:49 AM   #1

Default Which compact digital?

Hi everybody!
I would say "I am a serious amateur photographer", started looong ago with canon AE-P, passed the last 8 years in compact digital cameras, and need advice about changing my (rather good) olympus C-750. I recently bought Nikon P100, but I, by no meens, intend to keep it. I am an architect, so I need wide angle. I have a critical eye, so I need image quality. I like "production" so I need some control on the camera. I am new in this forum so I need your advice, although I already have sorted out four compact digital cameras.
Thank you,
alexander
kibaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2010, 9:43 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by kibaris View Post
I am an architect, so I need wide angle. I have a critical eye, so I need image quality. I like "production" so I need some control on the camera.
Welcome to the forum. Based on the above, I would say you need a DSLR.
corkpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2010, 10:25 AM   #3
Super Moderator

really, a nice entry-level dslr with an ultrawide lens is the best setup for architecture, particularly if you plan to do anything indoors. compact cameras don't have lenses that are wide enough, have a ton of distortion, and don't have the high iso capabilities to do anything indoors.

bear in mind though, you are going to be spending over 1000USD for the camera plus lens.

the only compact that does reasonably well for architecture is the Panasonic LX3, it has a wide 24mm lens and does ok at high iso's. but keep in mind this is not on the same playing field as the dslr.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2010, 11:31 AM   #4

Location: In mountainous California or Arizona or Guatemala or somewhere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hards80 View Post
but keep in mind this is not on the same playing field as the dslr.