Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 13, 2010, 2:35 PM   #1

Default Pentax KX vs Canon 40D vs Canon 450D

So I was dead set on getting a 40D, til I realized just how big it was, but I figure I would probably get used to the size after a while. (I'm only about 5' so I have pretty small hands) but then, I read about the KX which seems like an awesome value especially since it has IS built in and I'm just an amateur starting out, but... more of an advanced amateur, if you will. The 450D is in the same league as the KX but I haven't read much on it because I'm mostly focused on the 40D and the KX for now.

I will be taking a lot of indoor pictures (my house has VERY low light) and I do have a dog that I love taking pictures of so action shots as well. If I do get a Canon, I do not plan on buying any Canon lenses (but I already have a 50mm f1.8 II from an old film SLR) unless I become really obsessed with this hobby and plan to buy Sigma and Tamron lenses and the same goes for Pentax. An alloy body also isn't a deal breaker for me and a lower price would be nice seeing because I'm a college student, but I'll save up if need be and I plan on buying the camera used. My debate was, does the KX or the 40D have better AF in low light?

Last edited by jennyfurwhen; May 13, 2010 at 2:37 PM.
jennyfurwhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2010, 2:43 PM   #2

The canon does have better AF, but the k-x is pretty good still. The k-x is smaller the the 450D also. I shoot a 500D and a k-x. The K-x can hold it's own against the 500D in the AF department and low light, as it is the only other compact dslr besides canon that can shoot at 12800iso. And at 3200 the photos are very very good, and at 6400iso it is okay. And 12800 iso is acceptable.

Between the 450D and the K-x, the K-x is in the league of the 500D but price in the 450D league. It was awarded 2010 TIPA best entry dslr.