Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 16, 2010, 3:40 PM   #1
cmm

Default Nikon D3000, Nikon D5000 or Pentax k-x

Hi there,

I am new to this forum and so far I have found it very helpful.

I am debating between these three cameras - I have re*****hed them and currently have the D5000 (with 15 days to try it and return it if I change my mind) and have started taking test shots. I will be mainly taking shots of my family including my 5 month old baby boy who is often moving- I am currently taking lessons on using manual controls for more creativity.

I find the Nikon D5000 good but some of the menus take a while to sort through - is the Pentax k-x easier to use? I know the autofocus does not show up on the Pentax k-x in the viewfinder and I know it runs on AA batteries as opposed to the lithium battery...

I just want the camera that's easiest to use (I am a beginner), and takes the best photos in both automatic and manual modes. I would love to hear from people who have actually used the three cameras. I can get the D5000 and Pentax K-x for the same price and the D3000 is cheaper by $170 -

Thank you,
Carolyn
cmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 16, 2010, 3:41 PM   #2
cmm

I will just add that video, live mode and swivel screen are not really important to me -what is important is ease of use, colours and sharpness of photos I take using the viewfinder..
cmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2010, 3:48 PM   #3

The pentax k-x is a better low light camera, and currently has the second fastest AF in the segment behind the canon's.

Also the pentax is a bit easier for new dslr owners, it has good menu system and art filters until you are ready to move up to the advance mode. It was name best entry dslr by TIPA for 2010

Here are some links to sample of the k-x

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/wi...birds-nyc.html

http://forums.steves-digicams.com/ge...canon-t1i.html