Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 17, 2010, 3:48 PM   #1

Default First-time dSLR buyer - $1,200 budget

I'm about a day away from jumping on my first SLR. I have been doing quite a bit of research on my own, as I always do when making a relatively big purchase like this.

I have to admit, based on reviews and recommendations from a few friends, I have been leaning toward the Canon T2i.

A couple important notes about myself, to help you in helping me (kind of in priority order):
  1. I am a Realtor (residential).
  2. I have two kids, 5 months and 3.5 years.
  3. For P&S cameras, my past includes the Canon A80, SD850, SD880. I have always been a pretty big fan of Canon, but I would definitely consider another brand.
  4. HD movie is important to me. Primarily short clips (kids and houses), which is all we do with our camcorder anyway.
  5. $1,200 initial starting budget is relatively firm.
There's a local shop about 20 miles from my house that has the T2i in stock (only 2 of them). Called, and here's what they quoted me:
  • Canon T2i w/ kit lens - $829.99
  • Canon EF-S 55-250mm F/4-5.6 IS - $299.99
  • $200 off (if I purchase both of the above) = $929.98 + $67.80 (tax)
  • Mack 3-year Diamond Coverage - $139.99 (is it worth it?)
  • 16GB Sandisk Extreme III - $89.99
Total = $1,233.16

I would also likely pick up the Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 from B&H for $720, but not right off the bat, unless someone thinks I should skip the 55-250, and go for the wide from the start.

Your help is really appreciated, so thanks in advance.

Last edited by ckeegan; May 17, 2010 at 3:57 PM.
ckeegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 17, 2010, 3:53 PM   #2