Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 18, 2010, 9:56 PM   #1

Default Which DSLR Package to buy? New to Photography

Hello, I am new to photography and have to take a class next semester at school because it is part of my major. I have enjoyed taking pictures with point and shoot cameras and figured it would be a nice hobby to pick up.

Now I am having trouble deciding which camera to buy and which package deal would be best. I would prefer to purchase something that includes everything and I have a few picked out which I thought would be reasonable.

First is a very basic package that seemed like a good deal.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Digital-...=2WPA0XKTEM99S

Next is a more advanced one but the zoom lens doesn't have Image stabilization, and I figured it would be necessary for better pictures without the tripod.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Digital-...=2WPA0XKTEM99S

Lastly is a package that has a lot of different stuff in it but I don't really know if what is in there is stuff I will actually use since I don't know what everything really is.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Rebel-10...=2WPA0XKTEM99S

Personally I will be using this for landscapes and basic portraits but besides that I don't plan on anything more than that at the moment. But for my class I don't know what I will be required to do.

Thanks in advanced,

Shane
Spgovert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 18, 2010, 10:05 PM   #2

All of these cameras are getting a little old in terms of their life cycles. Also the kits tend to include a lot of over priced stuff that isn't really what you want. What kind of things do you like to shoot and what is your budget. With these bits of information the people here can help you pick out something that will serve you well. I might consider the Pentax Kx as it is a lower priced camera with great spec for what you want to do.
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote