Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 22, 2010, 11:50 PM   #1

Default Best Image Quality Honeymoon camera for under $500

I've enjoyed reading many of this community's posts and appreciate how helpful and knowledgeable it's users are. I've read so much across this site and many review sites and the number of choices for cameras has just melted my mind. I'd really appreciate help in deciding what camera to buy to bring on our honeymoon abroad. I'm a novice photographer (but learning more every hour I spend on this site

Criteria:
* Image quality most important for me
* Would like to stay under $500
* Originally was thinking compact fit-in-your-pocket size camera but now I really just want the best quality images I can get for this price range
* I don't care about video recording quality (going to buy separate camcorder)
* Don't need RAW format
* would like decent shots at low light (my wife and I, Eiffel Tower at night sort of thing)
* would like zoom capability, think that will come in handy for site seeing shots

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much!

Jason
JBMidwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2010, 11:56 PM   #2

Panasonic FZ35 if you want a good megazoom. Great value with a 18x zoom at 350. Something with more reach, Fuji HS10 about 450 dollars.

Panasonic ZS6/7 if you something the is really compact, pocket size with a decent zoom at 14x, other good ones in this range is the canon SX210 and sony HX5V, All about 300-350.

All the camera will film HD.

I will be in Paris next weekend. With any point and shoot you will need a tripod if you want to take low light shots of the city of lights. As none of the camera that meet your HD need will shoot very well in low light. You will need to shoot with a long exposure to capture Paris by night. Something small will work well like a gorillapod.
Old May 23, 2010, 12:37 AM   #3