Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 25, 2010, 12:47 PM   #1

Default Help needed

Hi
I am going on vacation soon and I am interested in buying a new p&s camera for the trip. It will be a family vacation and we will be going to the beach. I have listed below what specs I am interested in getting from my new camera. Please let me know what camera you would recommend if I am looking at the $200-$350 price range.

-MP - 8 to 14
-Optical Zoom - 7 to 10 X
-Ability to shoot in B&W
-Fast picture taking ability (I have a 4 year old that won't stay still for me to take her picture. I need it to take moving shots good and also I don't like a lag time between taking pictures even with the flash)
-Panoramic Mode
-Smile Detection
-Blink Detection
-Internal Flash
-Good Indoor and Outdoor pictures (I am not a pro so I will only be looking at the pictures as a mom so they don't have to be perfect)

**Also - I love gadgets so I have looked at the touch screen camera's and I like them. I am wondering if these are a good thing to get or are they just something to break? I see on some camera's you have to give up zoom, etc to get one with the touch screen and I would like to get opinions on if it is worth it or not.**

I have looked at several camera's but I have a few concerns about them:

Sony H-55 - It doesn't look like you can do b&w photos with this camera. It has mixed reviews so I just don't know if this would be a good camera all around. (I have the DSLR from Sony and love it so I am not against a sony just concerned)

Cannon - Powershot SX210IS - I currently have the Cannon S1000 and have had great luck with it. I am just looking for some of the newer features I am looking for. I don't think this has the panoramic feature.

Panasonic - ZS5 or ZS7 - I haven't owed a Panasonic but I have heard good things about them. I don't know if this has the features I am looking for.

Thanks so much for your help!