Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 26, 2010, 9:23 AM   #1

Default Sx210 Vs Tz10 Vs Hx5v

hei everyone! long time reader first time poster here.

I am looking to upgrade from my sony w290 to a higher end P&S. i've narrowed my list to the canon SX210, panasonic TZ10 and the sony HX5v.

i'm a college student with a specific budget and am somewhat of a photo enthusiast. most of my photos are casual (friends, travelling, etc). but sometimes i love to have manual controls over my camera, and make great use of it in some projects/occasions.

the current sony i have is fun, i love the easiness sony puts up in their camera. its good for 75% of my needs. the other 25% is spoiled by sony's drastic noise reduction processes, specially in night shots (even with the few manual option it offers). i love how it focuses on skin tones, but in the end the photo becomes useful for only web uploads.

i heard the HX5v still has this feature, but from the sample shots i saw, it looks more bearable. however i'm still open to the other cameras. i dont want my pursuit for the 25% to spoil the other 75% of 'think fast' situations.

thanks in advance for any help!
ajax14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2010, 11:56 AM   #2

I purchased an SX210IS and ended up returning it due to the barrel shadow that appears on some photos. I also did not like the HD video quality of the SX210.