Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 27, 2010, 1:24 PM   #1

Default need compact or ultra-compact with good video

I've been using a Canon S3 IS for a few years and while I love how easy it is to get good images, the video quality and especially camera noise during recording is really irksome. I also need something much smaller that I can keep in my bag. I had picked up the Sony HX5V this week but have been disappointed both with the image quality and audio quality.

With my Canon, I can usually just keep the ISO at 100 and turn the EV down a couple of notches, it gives me really decent pics with little fuss. (I'm actually a little baffled at how these settings seem to work in almost every shooting situation!) It's not quite as peppy as it used to be though, especially in regards to charging the flash. How are the newer Canons with that?

Well to sum things up, here is my list of wants in a new camera:
--small form factor
--720p or better video
--no audio issues during recording, or better yet, AWESOME audio.
--minimal tweaking for good images
--8MP or more
--optical image stabilization
--budget is under $400, I don't mind spending much less than this

Normally I'm a stickler for "more" optical zoom, but I'm starting to feel that the smaller form factor will negatively offset any improvements. I'm open to recommendations. Another point of discussion is sensor size.. back in '06 when I picked up my Canon, I'd tried out another Canon that had a 1/1.7" CCD. Now it looks like everything is 1/2" or smaller. Irksome! Well thanks in advance for any suggestions and discussion.
Under_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 27, 2010, 2:03 PM   #2

Most compact and ultra compact P+S cameras are currently using 1/2.33 sized imagers. There are no "larger imager" P+S cameras, excepting the Canon S-90 and G-11, which do not do HD video.