Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 31, 2010, 12:38 PM   #1

Default Taking the leap to dslr for my honeymoon and desparately need advice

Im currently locked between two kits I was either going to go with the Pentax K-X D-SLR Camera with 18-55mm Lens & 55-300mm Lens which is priced at $729 or i was considering jumping up to Canon EOS Rebel T1i Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens & EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Lens Kit which is priced at $899. Should i kick out the extra money for the canon or stick with the pentax. Im new to all this would eventually invest in better lenses and would like to shoot wildlife, landscape and random disney stuff that my wife puts me too shoot on our honeymoon. Please help whatever advice you can give would be greatly appreciated. I mean honestly is there that big a difference in camera quality?

Last edited by Sora; May 31, 2010 at 12:47 PM.
Sora is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2010, 1:02 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Hi, welcome to Steve's and congratulations on your pending marriage. How far off is the big day and what experience do you have in photography? The reason I ask is that getting good shots with a dSLR isn't as simple as with a superzoom or something so it is worth investing some time into learning your kit prior to the honeymoon so you can capture everything you desire. My wedding is in 11 days and I will be taking a Panasonic FT2 underwater point and shoot as well as one of my dSLRs and a lens or two.