Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 4, 2010, 5:46 AM   #1

Default Suggestions for point and shoot camera, please!

Hello! I'm brand new here so hope I'm not asking *too* many obvious questions...

I'll admit I'm not up to speed, as it were, on new digicams. Would you believe I have a Nikon Coolpix 775 and haven't shopped for a camera since (ten years old!)?

I haven't done any heavy duty shooting since my Nikon n80 days (film), which I purchased just before digicams really came in. Darn! I was a pretty good photographer, but have forgotten a lot about settings and such.

My immediate need is for photographing details of little tiny flowers! Obviously my Coolpix 775 can't do the job. Need a good macro.

Also, I don't want a teeny camera that I can't hold comfortably. Don't need a subcompact and how do you hold one with fingertips, anyway? But the camera does have to fit in my purse.

Obviously I require a good macro and lens; I'd really like to find good low light ability, not too long shutter lag, and at least a 3 or 4x zoom, maybe 5x or more. Don't care much about wide angle shooting.

Have never shot a video in my life but want the ability to occasionally do so with some ease.

Oh, and please not too many complex menus and anti-intuitive controls! Simple is good, with some flexibility.

I'm sure Canon, Nikon and Panasonic all have good cameras but could use some recommendations. I figure on spending, what, $170-$300?

Also, with the Canon models, can someone explain what powershot refers to-- aren't some more professional and some are more sleek and stylish? (I really don't care about being stylish.)

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by Clemma; Jun 4, 2010 at 5:52 AM. Reason: typos
Clemma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 4, 2010, 6:05 AM   #2

How big is your purse? There's quite a jump in size from say a ZS7 to an FZ35.

btw, it will very likely be $300+ if you want good low-light ability.