Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 10, 2010, 8:52 AM   #1

Default Entry level dSLR

Hi All,

I am planning to put my hand on a good entry lvl DSLR. Please guide me through it.

I am a student and wish to upgrade to DSLR zone from point-shoot cameras. 500USD is what i am considering most at this moment for my 1st investment.
The main reason for better photo quality and learning manual controls in DSLR.

I have 2 prime environment for shooting
1. home/party/park
2.garden/museum (particular focus)
3.outdoor photography/natural scenes /tourist photography while traveling
(traveling doesnt means i will take photos from moving car/train but i travels a lot and love to shoot in new places)

i tried to compare some entry lvl slrs and with my understanding, i short listed 2 models. please review and share your opinions.

1.Nikon D300 with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX VR lens
2.Olympus E 520 with 14-42mm Zoom Lens & 40-150mm f/4.0-5.6 Zoom Lens

both the offers are from adoroma and comes in the package(nikon:body+1 lens :: Oly:body+2 lens).

Regards
Asmit
masterasmit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2010, 9:02 AM   #2
Administrator

The D300 is not an entry level model. Are you sure you don't mean the D3000 instead?

I see you're in India. My suggestion would be to buy a camera in India if you want to get local service for it. Note that Nikon regional distributors will often refuse to service a camera that was not intended for sale in the region you live in, even if you are willing to pay them for the service.

These are referred to as Grey (or Gray) Market Cameras when you live in one area and buy one from another area to save money, instead of buying them from an authorized Nikon distributor in your area. So, if something went wrong, that means you may need to send it back to the U.S. for service if you buy a camera intended for sale in the U.S. from an Authorized dealer in the U.S.