Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 14, 2010, 2:35 AM   #1

Default HELP! Canon Rebel XSi vs. Sony Alpha a230

I have the opportunity to purchase either of these cameras; both include a 18-55mm lens for ~$350 after tax. I have no DSLR experience nor do I have any previous equipment so my concerns are ease of use, future lens purchase and overall quality. Based on the mind boggling amount of reviews I've stumbled through the last few days, I'm leaning towards the XSi but am concerned about lens cost after the fact. Simply put - my head hurts !!!

I'm hoping somebody here with more expertise and experience can shed some friendly advise and input to help me focus on the significant differences between the 2 cameras. Right now I'm moving from a Canon S3 IS so this realm is all new. I want something I can grow into for the next few years and still be productive if that makes sense. I'll be using the camera mainly for traveling purposes, outdoors and indoors, gradutations and vacation.

Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts!
snewpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 14, 2010, 4:04 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum.

Either one would be a good option for a first DSLR. Iike you, I would tend
to favour the XSi. There is a better selection of lenses available for the Canon.
It has a 12Mp sensor which is one generation newer than the 10Mp CCD
sensor in the Sony.

Have a look at the sample images from both cameras on the flickr camera
comparison page.

http://www.flickr.com/cameras/canon/...tal_rebel_xsi/
http://www.flickr.com/cameras/sony/dslr-a230/

Read the reviews and then make your choice. Just to add to
your confusion, Sony have announced a couple of new
entry level DSLRs including the A290 which will replace the
A230.
corkpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 4:16 AM   #3

http://www.dpreview.com/news/1006/10...nya390a290.asp
Koolpc is offline   Reply With Quote