Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 14, 2010, 1:25 PM   #1

Default Panasonic FZ35,Sony DSC-H50, Canon SX210, Sony HX5

I currently have a Canon A720--love the outdoor picture quality but hate indoor photos. I am looking for a much better optical zoom (at least 12) and don't want anything too large.

I have never really heard great things about Panasonics (all my friends have Sonys or Canons), but the FZ 35 looks like a great camera--and is a little smaller than the Canon SX20 which has similar features but is bigger than I'd like. Unfortunately, no stores near me carry it, so I'd have to order it online.

My sister has a Sony DSC H5 and told me that I really should buy whatever has replaced it---but I could only follow that line to a Sony DSC H50, and then I got lost.

Any thoughts? I am an amateur but passionate photography who loves to take action shots of my kids, still life, and just day to day pictures.
Thanks so much! Karen
kstanto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 14, 2010, 1:43 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by kstanto View Post
I have never really heard great things about Panasonics
You haven't been reading these forums for very long then

Quote:
(all my friends have Sonys or Canons), but the FZ 35 looks like a great camera
It is a very good bridge camera.

Quote:
Any thoughts? I am an amateur but passionate photography who loves to take action shots of my kids, still life, and just day to day pictures.
Thanks so much! Karen
Any time that someone starts a thread about bridge cameras and
then mentions indoor shots and/or action shots will usually get
a recommendation to buy a DSLR. Is this something you have
considered? The smaller DSLRs are not much bigger than the
FZ35.
corkpix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 1:55 PM   #3

Quote:
I have never really heard great things about Panasonics (all my friends have Sonys or Canons)