Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 17, 2010, 12:43 AM   #1

Default Pentax k-x or nikon d5000

I recently bought the Nikon D5000 for 640 dollars and am having second thoughts. I went to the store thinking I was going to leave with the Pentax K-X but left with the Nikon after talking to the salesman who convinced me I'd get more 'bang for my buck'.

I was leaning more towards the Pentax because of its small size, great reviews and durability. (Price was not the biggest deciding factor because it was only $40 less than the Nikon).

The salesman made a note that Nikon offered a larger variety of lenses, however, I am only an amateur dslr photographer and to be completely honest, I don't think I'll be upgrading lenses in the future. (1 or 2 more lenses max.) Also after reading up on the Nikon lenses not all of them are even compatible with the Nikon D5000?

Lastly, both cameras do offer the video feature which I do like, though I've read and watched comparison videos and I am more impressed with the Pentax.

Bottom line- should I listen to my gut and get the Pentax? I know the Nikon is a great camera, but for the purposes I'll be using my dslr for I am afraid I 'overpurchased'.

Any insight or opinions would be greatly appreciated!
cm9210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 17, 2010, 1:04 AM   #2

The salesmen lied I hate to say, as the d5000 can only use AF-s and AF-i series lenses.
So a 50mm prime for the nikon it 450 for the pentax is 350. If it was a d90, then it is a different story.

If you felt you prefer the pentax, I say that is what camera that is best for you.

The pentax has a better AF system the the d5000.

I shoot a canon t1i and the pentax can hang with the canon. The t1i gets compare to the d90 allot.

Last edited by shoturtle; Jun 17, 2010 at 1:13 AM.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2010, 1:25 AM   #3