Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 20, 2010, 2:23 PM   #1

Default sony a330

So i am wanting to get a dslr when i get back form Afghanistan and i already have a an older minolta slr that my dad gave me. So i am just getting into slr and i only want an entry level dslr like 500 for the buget. and i was looking at a230 but since i have like 3 older lenses i can save money on those for now and just get the a330. So my question is would it be better to get the 330 with the older lenses or the 230 with newer lense. Thank you
reek1729 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2010, 2:32 PM   #2

reek-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased you dropped by.

This decision really depends on what Minolta lenses you have. So tell us which lens you have now, for starters.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2010, 2:38 PM   #3
Administrator

What model Minolta SLR do you have?

If it's a Maxxum or Dynax model, then it's Autofocus, and the lenses will work on a Sony dSLR.

If it's an older Manual Focus SLR, then the lenses will not work on a Sony dSLR without an adapter (because the older MC/MD mount lenses use a totally different lens mount).

The main difference between the A230 and A330 is that the A330 has a tilting LCD with Live View. But note that A330 has a smaller Optical Viewfinder (because of the separate Live View sensor Sony uses in it's Viewfinder housing that sees the same thing normally projected to the Optical Viewfinder when using Live View). The A230 does not have Live View. But, it's optical viewfinder is larger.

What lenses do you have?