Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 28, 2010, 3:27 AM   #1

Default Need guidance for buying new camera

Hi All,

This is my first post here. Though its my first post i have read many of discussions that happen here and now its time for me to buy a camera and I believe the pros/mates here would be the best to guide me.

I am a newbie in serious photography, my earlier dc was canon powershot A550. Its still not broken :-) , however i think its time for me to migrate to a bit more prof dc. However I do not look forward to getting a DSLR camera at the moment as it would be huge step and a need a very steep learning curve.

I came to know about the bridge cameras then and i believe these would serve my purpose for the time being. I have shortlisted 5 cameras, these are Fuji hs10, Panasonic fz35, Olympus SP 570/600 uz, Canon sx10 is.

Can i please have some comments on these selections based on my intentions below;

* i want to start with some serious photoing, hence needs a camera that would allow me to do manual tweaking (instead of being a slave of the auto mode)(i believe the selected cameras vary in this aspect) that can help me in learning.

* not much a big fan of super zoom, but still want to have decent long zoom (stable)(wanna see how things look zoomed in regards to my old 4x OZ)

* decent photos and videos (having read that the image quality varies with higher ISO and longer zooms, i just hope for normal quality of photos/videos )

* not planning to attempt any impossible photography, just a bit of nature photographs and others (Leaving for Europe in few months for my higher studies, wanna take some good snaps )

apologies if quite a long mail..just wanted to speak out my mind.

expecting guidance,

Thanks in advance,

Neg
negdev is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 28, 2010, 5:26 AM   #2

looking at what you have written i would look at the canon g11 i think it ticks all your boxes