Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 15, 2010, 9:49 AM   #1

Default DLSR Help

Good Morning,

My husband and I are in the market for a new DSLR. I have been reading reviews and ratings for weeks and am starting to feel overwhelmed. We would like a DSLR for two different purposes. He would like to shoot better indoor photos for his e-bay business (sometimes this may include some macro work). I, on the other hand, would love to utilize this camera for shots of children, animals, and a little landscape. I am a past student of photography, but have only been trained with a manual SLR. I am ready to move up in the world. J
We have been looking at the Canon T1i and T2i, the Nikon D5000 and D90 and the Pentax K-7. We are interested in the video features these cameras offer, but are not limited if someone has a better suggestion. Our budget is $1000 for the camera, lens, memory card and a bag. Thank you so much for any and all feedback!
TaylorMade7407 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2010, 10:24 AM   #2

With a $1,000 budget, because of the things you want to do and the things you need, you're limited to the Nikon D5000 and Canon T1i. Your choice is further narrowed by the fact that the D5000 doesn't have a built-in autofocus motor, so any macro lens your husband uses will be manual focus. That leaves the T1i.

But that's actually a very good choice. It will do what you want quite well.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 11:04 AM   #3

Thank you so much the the feedback TCav. Is our budget too low for the type of camera we would need? If need be we can always hold of a little longer and save more.

Last edited by TaylorMade7407; Jul 15, 2010 at 11:18 AM.
TaylorMade7407 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2010, 11:21 AM   #4