Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 15, 2010, 12:59 PM   #1

Default Going on a birding trip + kids sports

We're going on a birding /river tour in a few weeks and I'm hoping to move up to a DSLR for that and other subjects - I currently have a Canon G11 that mostly gets used in Auto mode. I've considered a DSLR for several years but the bird tour has pushed up my desire. I have very little photo knowledge or skills, but do plan to spend time learning with whatever camera I end up with.

I would like something with a decent zoom range for the bird tour. I also have kids that participate in little league baseball, basketball and karate. Not the fastest action, but the basketball and karate are indoors.

I'm hoping to get a camera, an everyday lens and something to cover the zoom for the bird shots. I've always had Canon P&S and have a small speedlight, but would also consider other brands, since i have no lens for any. I'm hoping to stay in the $1200 range - give or take.

Would be grateful for any suggestions.

Thanks
eswau is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2010, 1:20 PM   #2

I'm really new to learning about DSLR's but here's some things to consider:

If you plan on shooting indoors, mainly the karate you may end up needing a camera body that can do a higher ISO (3200 perhaps) and a fast lense (maybe f/2.8). The fast lens would help too with the bird shots as it should eliminate motion blur if they dont hold still long enough.

The nikon d5000 and canon t1i seem to be decent entry level/cost options. You could consider buying used or refurbished to help keep the cost down too.

In my research Ive found that fast lenses tend to be quite costly, so I would consider going with a third party lens (tamron or sigma).

600 or so for the body and 400-600 for a decent lens about hits your price point. Not to mention little extras you'll probably want to pick up.