Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 20, 2010, 8:00 AM   #1

Default Camera for low light (concerts) - D5000 - E-620 or else?

Hi,

I’m trying to find a desicion and have done intensive research throughout the internet. Still I didn’t find a solution, so here’s what I’m trying to find out:

Where I'm coming from and what I'd like to do:

I have an Olympus E-510 right now. I have been dissapointed with the pictures regarding highlight clipping and noise in low light situations. I’m shooting photos at rock-concerts in clubs quite often, but I’m using the camera for everything else too. I’m not a professional and I do not want to use software afterwards to make the pictures look much better – I’d rather like to get them “finished” as much as possible from the camera itself. I’d like to use a zoom-lens (28-150mm 35mm-equivalent). The pictures will be used on a webpage but also printed on posters (60x80cm) quite often. I do not want to spend much more than about 800 EUR / 1000$.

So my priorities seem to be:
- very good dynamic range (also in highlight)
- low noise even with high ISO
- very good quality jpeg pictures right from the cam
- very good AF also in low light (and maybe without AF-assist-lamp)
- image stabilizer

What annoys me:
- AF–assist with repeated flashlight (as on my E-510)

What I’d find useful: (not make-or-break)

- tilt/swivel LCD-screen
- Button for depth-of-field-check

I have been looking at the Nikon D5000 and did like it very much together with the 18-100mm kit-lens. But I could also upgrade to the Olympus E-620, as dynamic range has been improved.The Kit-lenses (14-42 and 40-150mm) are quite good – though I’d like something more like a “superzoom” even better for my purpose, so I don’t have to change the lens within a concert.