Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 20, 2010, 12:30 PM   #1

Default Super Zoom or Entry Level DSLR?

I'm looking to upgrade to a better camera from my current P&S but I need to do so on a budget. While I'd like to try out a DSLR like the Nikon D5000 or Canon T1i/T2i they are out of my price range right now. I'm also a little wary about jumping into a DSLR since I have no experience with them but the price point for some entry level cameras is very good right now and am willing to put the time in to learn.

I can get a Sony A330 with two lenses (18-55 and 55-200) for under $600 CAD. I was also looking at the Panasonic FZ35 which sells for $450 CAD. I will initially be relying on the auto settings in these cameras and would be looking for the best image quality.

I typically use my camera as follows:

- Indoor potrait style photos - 50%
- Some outdoor activities (kids soccer, camping) - 10%
- Travel, vacation shots (mainly outdoors) - 40%

My question is: Will I be happy with the FZ35 for my usage until such time as I'm ready to buy a little better DSLR or is it worth while to get the A330 now? Also, HD video is a bonus but not mandatory.

Thank you.
finja is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2010, 1:39 PM   #2

As far as the Sony kit goes, the 55-200 isn't long enough for Soccer. If you go that way, and must do so on a tight budget, the Tamron 70-300 Di LD would be a better choice than the 55-200, and it costs about the same. You'll also need another lens to do the "Indoor potrait style photos" but a dSLR will do those a lot better than the FZ35. If that's a big part of what you want to shoot, I think you should skip the FZ35 and go straight to the Sony.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2010, 2:36 PM   #3

Thank you for your reply TCav.