Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 26, 2010, 7:16 AM   #1

Default Super Beginner (Panasonic FZ35?)

Heys everyone

New to the forum :] and I was wondering if you guys could help me out. I'm a total beginner to photography (previous experience limited to vacation photos with my family's 2003 olympus c5000). I wanted a camera that I could play around with and learn to use the manual controls. The 60 second shutter speed makes me happy on the fz35 cause I really like long exposure night photos.

Just last night I was playing around with the olympus and I found out it had manual controls for aperture/shutter speed and 16s max shutter speed And this whole time I never knew :/ But since that's a family camera and I'll be in college at Santa Barbara next month, I thought I should get myself my own camera and Panasonic's fz35 looks really nice.

Another camera I looked at was Fujifilm's s1800, but while playing around with it at Best Buy (they didn't have the fz35 sadly), the three things that bother me most about it are:

1. Its screen is not really crisp and clear and when you move the camera around the screen kinda lags in catching up.
2. Because of reason 1, when you're setting up the photo, it looks bad on screen even though it looks fine afterwards.
3. Its max shutter speed is 8 seconds. I'm not really sure if that's enough for the long exposure night photos that I like.

So, does anyone have any suggestions for a suitable camera for me? Mid $300s at MOST is my price range. I'm going to be a poor college student for the next 4 years so I plan on keeping this camera around for quite a while.

Sorry about the long post and thanks for the help :]
joshyting is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2010, 12:21 PM   #2

joshyting-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.