Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 28, 2010, 7:57 PM   #1

Default DSLR vs P&S

Hello all and thanks for the invitation!

I am a hobbyist who has never taken a class, never read a book on photography and who loves taking pictures. And I loved my 1987 Canon EOS, may it rest in peace.

I now have a decent Sony P&S which I purchased three years ago in the range of $300. I usually take pictures outdoors, indoors only to commemorate parties. I am satisfied with the picture quality but I'd like more versatility.

Until recently, I thought I'd buy an entry level DSLR. However, a friend turned me on to her sexy ZS7 and I have been reading reviews on it compared to the HX5 and TL350 ever since.

1. Will I be happy operating a (good) P&S compared to a DSLR? Will the P&S meet my need for creativity, e.g., shutter and aperture adjustments, etc? Is a DSLR much easier to make those adjustments on the fly? I backpack and obviously a P&S would be much easier to carry.

2. If my indoor shots are primarily family stuff, will it matter ZS7 vs HX5?

3. I suspect that it's Lexus vs. Infinity when it comes to ZS7 vs. HX5 vs TL350. Am I right?

Thanks for your thoughts. I look forward to your guidance.
K9XOX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 28, 2010, 8:16 PM   #2

K9XOX-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

While I also shoot with DSLR cameras, I also like P+S cameras a lot as well. The ZS7 does very well indeed with outdoor photos. However, when you take it indoors and have to use the built-in flash, you quickly become aware of the fact that the Panasonic ZS7 has a very short Flash Range. Its just about 6 feet.

That is the issue that makes me shy away from the Panasonic ZS7 when it comes to indoor photos, which are certainly below par, with only just fair image quality.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2010, 9:18 PM   #3