Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jul 29, 2010, 12:36 PM   #1

Default Panasonic GH1 questions....

Unfortunately, I cannot afford the D90, so it is out of the race. I have decided to buy the Panasonic gh1. I came to this conclusion because of my budget. I would have prefered to get the D90; but it is out of my budget.
I can get the GH1 with the HD lens for under $1000 new. I am only looking to buy new cameras.
My question is the following:
The GH1 will be able to take higher quality pictures than any of the Super zooms, right? I ask because I gave my wife me Fuji Hs10; so I know and I can use it as a point of reference.
I am not a professional photographer, but I like to take great pictures. I know that the D90 is faster and probably take better pics than the GH1, but will the GH1 be a good all around camera? For travelling, outdoor, indoors, video, etc..
Just let me know your opinions, please do not tell me that the Nikon is much better, i already know that( I cannot afford it). I just want to know if the GH1 will be a good overall camera that can take great pictures.
Thanks in advance.
vsanzbajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 29, 2010, 2:18 PM   #2

u can buy a canon 500d or pentax k-x.that will cost u less as well as u will get better iq.they have larger imager than gh1
NiNiKa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2010, 2:48 PM   #3

But with lenses they are out of my budget. For leess than $1000. The Gh1 with the 14-140mm is a great deal in my opinion. The Canon with a comparable lens will run around $1400. Right now i am looking for one lens that I can take almost anywhere. I know that I will have to sacrifice some IQ.
Old Jul 29, 2010, 3:07 PM   #4