Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 5, 2010, 10:46 AM   #1

Default Camera for vacations

Dear all,

I'm a student looking for a new camera for traveling with the best combination of:

1)Good image quality
2)Price(below $350, cheaper is better)
3)low light image. (quality don't need to be great but at least acceptable)

After much research on the internet, I've narrowed down to 3 cameras

1) Canon SD4000/300HS
2) Panasonic TZ8/ZS5
3) Panasonic FH20/FS30

I know it's not fair to compare these 3 cameras but if the image quality of the cheaper camera is comparable to the more expensive ones, then i would not like to spend that extra money. I'm willing to sacrifice a bit of image quality for a cheaper price.

I believe these 3 cameras can perform well under good lighting condition. What I'm worried is the low light performance, the SD4000/300HS without doubt can do well under low light. What about TZ8/ZS5 and FH20/FS30, is the low light image quality of these 2 really that bad? As stated above i don't need a low light night image but at least acceptable.

I've read some review that said that FH20/FS30 low light performance is good(somehow i doubt it), it is true?

Which camera is more suitable based on my requirement? Please help me out. Thanks for reading my post.
c_calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 5, 2010, 11:35 AM   #2

The zs5 would be my choice if you need a decent zoom. Yes the low light is pretty bad if you are out of flash range and using high iso pass 800. It gets noise. The sd4000 is a bit better with the f2.0 lens up close. But zoom out it is not that great either. They all use a very small sensor 1/2.23 which does not make for good low light photography.
Old Aug 5, 2010, 1:47 PM   #3

c_calvin-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.