Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 9, 2010, 1:30 PM   #1

Default Best Digital Camera for Sports

I have been heavily researching the latest digital cameras and have been giving a close look at the Samsung CL80 (ST5500) and the Canon SX210IS. I am a student with a part time job so my budget is only 450, so unfortunately i cannot get an SLR unless an incredible deal falls into my lap. Does anyone here have experience with these 2 cameras? If so which would you prefer? Any other digital cameras in the 400 dollar range that would be good for sports? I am a technology buff so while i want great image quality, i would also prefer cool new features. The CL80 is loaded with features while the SX210IS has 14x optical zoom, making me torn between the 2. If anyone could help me make a decision based off of their knowledge/experience...or point me in the way of a camera even better than the two, i would greatly appreciate it. Thanks for the help

-Matthew
mattd708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 9, 2010, 1:40 PM   #2

no point and shoot will be good for sports, they just do not have a good enough AF system. You can get a chance shots. But if you are trying to track something, it will not give you great results. Your budget is very tights, and would not really allow you to get a longer zoom lens for out door sports in daylight, let alone a bright lens for indoor and night sport shots.

with all the cameras mention, they all will have the same issues with not being able to keep up with the action.
Old Aug 9, 2010, 1:40 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Hi Matthew and welcome to Steve's.

When you say sports what you are wanting to shoot as this will have a huge affect on the camera needed.

It is rare for a non dSLR to do well in the sports area so it could be a big compromise.

Mark

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.