Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 11, 2010, 1:51 PM   #1

Default camera features needed to photograph artwork

Hello,
I am a painter, new to digital photography and need to create accurate digital images of my acrylic landscapes on canvas to make prints to sell to my customers. My largest work is 38" X 22".
What I need to know is this. What features on a digital camera are a must for me to have in a camera so with practice I can create good images.
Thanks!
dpzippi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 11, 2010, 4:47 PM   #2

dpzippi-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

Based on the assumption, that you will have independently solved the problems of good lighting and the need for a very good tripod, in terms of a camera you have to consider how large the final prints will be, to determine the proper camera to be used.

If you are going to make prints in the same size as the original, you would need, as a minimum a camera like the Canon G-11, or S-90, outside of the Canon brand line, the Samsung TL-500/EX-1, and the panasonic LX-3 are also potential camera candidates.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2010, 5:08 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Something that has a lens with minimal distortion and also good edge to edge sharpness otherwise you will get soft corners and also lines won't be straight. I think the Canon options mentioned by Sarah have strong performing lenses so if they are stopped down to f5.6 and used at a medium focal length you should be looking pretty fine.

Tripod and even lighting (not flash) are key to this process so you can shoot at the lowest ISO to retain as much detail as possible. If you want to go up a bit in quality then an entry level dSLR with again a lens that performs well for minimal distortion etc as above.

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.