Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 13, 2010, 10:00 AM   #1

Default Superzoom versus compact

Hi,

I'm looking at the moment to upgrade from my old Sony DSC-S40, to a camera with a bigger zoom - say x12 or higher. My main priorities are good image quality outdoors (and reasonable indoor/low light) and good zoom. Ability to mess around with settings would be a bonus - I'm a complete newbie at that so want a solid auto mode as a base for future experimentation. I will be using it for a mixture of things - landscape shots incl low light if poss, holiday shots, macros of insects, bird shots, and indoor family shots.

I was initially looking at a compact and was torn between the Panasonic TZ10 and the Samsung WB650 as generally these seem to get the best reviews. Both get mixed reviews however, though more reviews say the Panasonic has slightly better quality images, but the comments about lense flare, regularly blown highlights resulting in washed out skies, and poor low light/indoor performance puts me off. Its hard though to work out if the above issues the panasonic has are also found on the Samsung, and whether the Samsung low light performance is actually better. The video in Panasonic and the macro seem slightly better. I would be interested in anyone's thoughts on the Panasonic issues and whether they are actually noticeable in practice; likewise on the Samsung.

Since my mother has now decided she wants a superzoom camera that has also got me wondering whether that might be a better (if slightly less stick-in-your-pocket-on-a-walk friendly) option. I am however confused as to whether superzoom cameras have even worse low light and indoor performance than the TZ10 and WB650. Could anyone shed any light on this to help me make up my mind...?