Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 27, 2010, 5:14 AM   #1

Default Samsung WB2000 vs. Sony DSC-HX5v

Hi,

I am buying compact digital camera (pocketable) and have been reading this forum for weeks now and learning, because I am a beginner in photography.

I am looking for a compact digital camera up to 350, which can fet in my pockets, has good image quality, full hd videos, lot of optical zoom, is doing as good as it can get possible shots on low light (night shots at the party or in the center of the city) for this type of cameras and this price range, has panorama function in camera and is good in shooting moving objects (kids, pets, etc.).

Firstly i narrowed my decision on Sony HX5v, Panasonic TZ10 and Canon SX 210. I went to store and tried all of them and i liked Sony the most. Problem appeared when i saw Samsung WB2000 (TL350) so i hope that you can help me. I have read many reviews and forums and seen a lot of images and videos taken with hese two cameras but i cannot take a decision.

What I really like about Sony is that it has big lens, 10x optical zoom, full hd videos, panorama mode and anti moving blur. But i do not like that on all forums costumers say that image quality is not so good, that photos are not sharp and washed out. I do not care about GPS option. A lot of people say that this Sony is strong on paper but not in reality.

On Samsung I really like that it has real full hd videos (1080p), slow motion videos, panorama mode, and that images and videos i have seen, sems to be more colorfull, sharp and detailed and camera also has more manual options/controls. Can it shot moving object or is it bad for this?

Can you do comparison on next features that are most important for me and tell which camera is better in:
- image quality
- image quality on low light (night) (Sony has bigger lens but smaler f.3,5, where Samsung has smaller lens but f. is much lower)
- video quality