Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 29, 2010, 4:18 PM   #1

Default Searching for a new point & shoot!

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a nice point & shoot camera under $200 and was hoping that you all could help me out!

I'm a college student so a lot, if not all, of my picture taking is going to involve people and parties and I am looking for something that will be able to handle that. Good picture quality and many scene modes (Portrait, Beach, Landscape, Sports, etc.) are also important factors to me. This is the kind of picture quality I am looking for: http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-..._2044157_n.jpg

I've done some research on my own and found the Sony Cybershot DSC-W350, Panasonix Lumix DMC-FH20 and the Nikon Coolpix S3000. After reading many reviews on all 3 cameras, they all seem to be pretty well-matched but I have read that all 3 don't seem to do well in low-light situations which is an issue for me and what I would be using the camera for. I'm guessing that I need to be looking for a camera with a strong flash?

If you could suggest a camera to me that would suit me or have any opinions on the 3 cameras that I've mentioned above, I'd really appreciate it! Thank you so much!
haleykang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2010, 5:41 PM   #2

haleykang-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

The features that you are looking for are really features that are found in larger and much higher priced DSLR cameras. The two point and shoot cameras that provide those features are the Canon S-90 and the Samsung EX-1.

The three cameras that you have listed are all just so-so or average cameras.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2010, 9:56 PM   #3