Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 2, 2010, 2:25 PM   #1

Default Nikon D5000 vs Sony a500?

Hi everyone,
I'm new to DSLRs (don't own one yet)...but do any A500/550 users have experience with the Nikon D5000 and vice versa? I have credit at a camera store that expires on 9/3, that has limited options, and these are my top picks. I plan to purchase a fast prime for whichever camera I choose (the affordable ones for me are a 50mm 1.8 for the Sony, and a 35mm 1.8 (I think) for the Nikon).

I like the A500 for it's in-body IS (I intend to take quite a few hand-held, flashless shots in less than ideal lighting conditions, and I want to avoid ISO noise and camera blur as much as possible). I don't really care too much about shooting video, so that is not a deal breaker

However, I've read that the D5000 outperforms the a500 in ISO performance. With the D5000, at a high enough ISO, I may be able to get a fast enough shutter speed to couteract blur -- but how will the resuls from both cameras, in the same lighting, measure up to one another when their advantages are used properly? I just can't determine which will be a better advantage for me-- IS in body (for fast primes), or high ISO.

I just want to know if anyone can shed any words of wisdom on this delimna I have. I plan to take shots of people in dim bars/outside at night (some posed, some candid), indoor photos, and typical outdoor vacation pics.

Thanks!
Jen
jenniefw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 2, 2010, 2:44 PM   #2

According to DXOMark, the Nikon D5000 has a little less noise than the Sony A500, but not by much, and the A500 has a higher maximum ISO.