Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 3, 2010, 2:56 PM   #1

Default Fuji S200EXR...Love the manual zoom but....

Newbie here looking for a new all around camera. I had a Panasonic fz18 for years which just recently went out on me. I did a lot of research and really liked the features and reviews on the Fujifilm Finepix s200exr...or so I thought. I just got it, but after playing around all day I am REALLY not liking the noise on my indoor shots. I have tried a range of the different auto settings and turned the ISO down as far as the auto allows, to max 400. The reason I picked this camera was because of the manual zoom and focus rings, which I am really loving the zoom ring, as well as several of the unique auto features and modes. I am very interested in learning more about photography and learning how to use it more manually, but also want to have a camera that I (as well as when others use it) can rely on the auto modes. I predominantly take pics of my kids, 2 and 4 yrs old, so need a fast camera to prevent motion blur (with my fz18 I honestly kept the setting on indoor or outdoor sports all the time if that helps). I would also say that at least half or slightly more of my pics are of my kids indoors, that's why I am so disappointed with the s200exr's low light noise.

So question is, did I make a mistake? I can still return it but need to decide soon. Am I just doing something wrong? Is there another camera on the market (in the $400 or under range) that has a manual zoom ring but might take better indoor, low-light. high speed pics? Keeping in mind that my biggest priority is just really good pics of my kids, and secondary priority would be that I might be able to use it to learn more about manual photography.

Thanks for any opinions.
jbmom06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 4, 2010, 9:27 PM   #2