Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 5, 2010, 3:57 PM   #1
CCF

Default Need Help - What camera should I buy?

New in this forum, new in Camera World as well.
I want to give my wife a camera as a Birthday Present, recently - I noticed she really enjoys taking pictures of almost everything from our small compact 10MP Sony Digital Camera. She loves taking pictures of our kids, our pond and landscaping, etc.

So -what camera should I get her? I want something that is very professional, perhaps a nice zoom lense, and a wide angle. I'm a Designer so I can use this camera too to take pictures of my work - hence a wide angle should be good.

They have bundle sets at BestBuy but not knowing what I'm getting into, I thought of a forum right away.

Need help please! Thank you very much.

Oh, and budget wise? Hmm... maybe from $800 to $1,500? Again - not sure if this is enough or not being an ignorant in this field.

Thank you very much!
CCF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 5, 2010, 8:19 PM   #2

Taking photos of small children usually requires a fast autofocus system. Canon has the fastest AF system in entry level dLSRs, so that would be a good choice. It also has the best selection of OEM and third party lenses and accessories. The T1i and T2i are good choices. The stabilized 18-55 kit lens that comes with them is quite good and the Canon 55-250 IS compliments it well. That will give her a good place from which to start. But keep the receipt, and take her back to the store so she can exchange it for someting else. How a camera feels is a very personal thing, and while the Canon models are both quite nice, she might prefer the feel of one of the others.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 8:27 PM   #3

CCF-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.