Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 7, 2010, 3:56 PM   #1

Default Fire Photographers?

Just wondering if there are any fire photographers out there. I am a photographer for my local Fire Department. This is kind of my first venture into this arena. I have done a lot of photography but not under these conditions.

Thinking of upgrading camera in the near future. Currently using a Nikon P80 and have gotten some very good shots. But the night fires get tricky and it is hard to get good photos.

Because of the conditions you don't have time to set a tripod and set up. Therefore I use automatic or usually semi-automatic using shutter as my control element. Some of my best photos I had less than 5 seconds to snap.

My major complaint is if I set the ISO above 2000 on the P80 the picture is too grainy. It looks good on the camera when you shoot it but not good full screen.

I hate to invest $2000 in a camera that might get sprayed on the next call. Same time I want to do the best I can.

Just looking for middle of the road with a lot of zoom and good night shot potential.

Another must for me is a shoe for a flash. I do not have that on the P80 or I might not be looking for another camera. The built in flash just isn't quite good enough and it has no shoe. I don't take a lot of flash photos during the fire but do after it is under control.

Thanks for any ideas.

Dwayne

Dwayne Dobson
Hebron, IN
http://www.hebronfire.net
http://www.townofhebron.com

Last edited by ddobson; Sep 7, 2010 at 4:04 PM.
ddobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 7, 2010, 4:37 PM   #2

Actually, Photo 5 shoots fires. He's got some posts here, and I'm sure you could PM him.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 4:52 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCav View Post
Actually, Photo 5 shoots fires. He's got some posts here, and I'm sure you could PM him.