Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 9, 2010, 8:19 AM   #1

Default Sony DSLRs - Why do unpopular?

Sorry this is so long! I'm a beginner -- while deciding between a Nikon D5000 and a Sony a500 for my first DSLR purchase, I settled on the Sony a500. I went to the zoo this weekend with my camera -- I spotted a TON of CanNikons, one Pentax, and zero Sonys. There were a lot of people at the zoo this weekend with SLRS too! Not that I feel a need to be one of the herd, but I'm wondering if there's collective wisdom among all the CanNikon owners that I don't have.

If I made a mistake, I can still exchange this camera for the Nikon within a week or so...which brings me back to here.

The main reason I went for the Sony a500 over the D5000 was for the in-body stabilization. I told the salesgirl that I was interested in low-light shots with a fast prime, and without flash or a tripod in the near future -- she suggested the Sony over the Nikon. Using a Nikon and a non-stabilized fast prime, she said that I would most likely need a tripod (or suffer from underexposure/camera shake blur/noisy photos from really high ISOs). Since she said that both cameras offer similar performance otherwise (for ISO, AF abilities, OOC jpgs, etc), this really sold me. From some reading/posts I've made, I've gotten this impression too (but of course Sony owners could be biased).

I'm wondering -- if the Sony a500 really does perform just as well as the Nikon D5000, is less expensive, AND has Image Stabilization, why are Sony's so unpopular? Did the salesgirl tell me a lie when she said that it performed just as well as the D5000? Am I missing something here?