Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 9, 2010, 11:49 AM   #1

Default Another EOS Rebel T2i vs. 60D post

Sorry if this is repetitive. I have read through many posts here on this topic and most have been quite helpful. But I will still like to address my particular issues:

I am a former Canon AE-1 user and totally loved that camera. I have an affinity towards Canon but can be persuaded to another manuf. I have been reading and researching the EOS Rebel T2i vs. the 60D.

I have been using a (dreaded) point & shoot for the past several years and have been 80% satisfied with it. My big issues are: quality and speed. Clicking the shutter and waiting seconds to miss a shot is too frustrating. I am going on a trip to photograph wildlife and would like to regain the quality and control that I once had with my AE-1.

So, questions I have are:

• T2i vs. 60D. Based on what Iíve seen, for what I need the big difference (other than price) is 3.7 fps vs. 5.3 fps. Am I really going to benefit from having 5.3 fps over the 3.7?
  • They also seem to take the same lenses (EF). I see some are IS and some are IS USM. Whatís the difference?
  • I am considering an 18-135mm as a general purpose lens.
  • Lastly, is there a comparable competitor (Pentax, Sony, etc.) that I should consider?

Thanks so much for bearing with me.
DianaJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 9, 2010, 1:12 PM   #2

Welcome to your new nameurplee-

I own a Canon T-1i, but the 18-135mm IMO is not a great lens. The better combination, just as TCav suggested is the Canon 18-55mm IS kit lens and the Canon 55-250mm IS lens.

I did not think that the T-2 was worth the extra money, and the 60D has not yet been announced. If it had I would have passed on the 60D.