Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 26, 2010, 10:52 AM   #1

Default Camera for Photographing Art

Hi there,

New and in a position of absolute ignorance regarding photgraphy. I have recently been doing quite a bit of pastel painting and getting the more successful efforts framed. The person I go to for framing, herself a professional artist also, reckons I should be getting my stuff into galleries and that I need good photographs of my works before framing, then being able to send these off to relavant galleries, etc.

I am, I imagine, under no illusions as to what a total novice can achieve with photographs but bearing in mind that my works tend to be fairly limited in colour range & 'abstract' for lack of a more accurate word, I would like advice as to what camera to get. If it is something I learn with and keep using for years to come, with growing seriousness, should I be looking at something like the Fujifilm Finepix s2000, or be reaching up to things like Panasonic Lumix fz38?

Thanks in advance, & apologies for depth of my ignorance, despite having spent brain tiring day investigating camera models & various would-be-relevant blind alleys.
Andrew Kenneally is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2010, 11:10 AM   #2

Some tips here (Part I and then read Part II):

http://www.betterphoto.com/exploring...gPaintings.asp

The use of a circular polarizer filter and polarizer gels at 90 is the standard to get good paintings pictures. Not a piece of cake, really.

Last edited by Ordo; Sep 26, 2010 at 11:15 AM.
Ordo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 11:44 AM   #3

Andrew-

Welcome to the Forum. We're please that you dropped by.

Thus far, some of the best photographs of art have been done with an Olympus EPL-1. You can see some examples of the photos in the Olympus m4/3 folder.

As Ordo has noted, photographing art is an exacting process.

Sarah Joyce