Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 30, 2010, 5:27 PM   #1

Default I want to do more than I can with my p&s

I have a kodak dx6490 that I bought as my first digital camera. It has been a good p&s for me but it is getting really slow to process and focus. Also, I'm itching to do more. In particular I want to be able to take pics with different depths and get that neato blurring in the backgrounds etc. (Is is obvious I'm not a photo pro ). I've been reading a bit and starting my research and I wanted to get some opinions from those who know more than I. Is there a newer p&s that has the capabilities of playing with depth of field? Should I look at an older (used) model DSLR? Is there something in between I don't know about? I would like to keep the price under $500 if possible. Okay... lay it on me

Last edited by kfulweiler; Sep 30, 2010 at 6:26 PM.
kfulweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 30, 2010, 6:16 PM   #2

kfulweiler-

Welcome to the Forum. We're pleased that you dropped by.

The blurred background effect is something that is part of DSLR cameras and their photos. You can rarely get it consistently with a P+S camera. So, you will have to consider an entry level DSLR camera if that blurred background is a real priority.

So you might want to begin looking at DSLR cameras.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 6:59 PM   #3

You will most likely need to move upto a dslr or Evil camera for that back ground blur your looking for. To be able to achieve it with a point and shoot, you will need a long zoom and allot of working room. Around the house, you really will not be able to do that with a point and shoot.
Old Sep 30, 2010, 7:20 PM   #4