Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 6, 2010, 4:58 PM   #1

Default best low light compact? Canon or Fuji?

Hi There,

I just joined this forum because of all the awesome feedback everyone has been giving to new camera buyers. Hopefully it'll be able to end my decision roadblock.

My Situation:
I'm a recently graduated Chef and I need a small portable camera to take with me for quick pics at Restaurants, Parties and other social events. I won't be able to use a Tripod in most circumstances to help with picture quality either, and most of the time the situation won't allow me to use a flash so it'll be all up to the ambient lighting.

My needs:
1/ Compact Camera
2/ Low-Light

After reading the various forum "what camera should I buy?" it' seems that in the compact area. The top candidates are

Canon S90 / S95
Fuji F70EXR / F200EXR
Fuji F80EXR and F300EXR

note: why isn't anyone commenting much on the F80EXR and F300EXR are they bad updates to the F70EXR/F200EXR?

Eventually I'll take the leap to SLR, but I want this camera as my quick and easy portable, everywhere I go camera.

If there's another option I may have missed please go ahead and suggest it. I have a rough cap of $400 US.

Thanks,

Phong
pstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 6, 2010, 9:19 PM   #2

will you be shooting food? Or people?
If food you will be happy to know there are a lot of cameras which have a special 'gourmet' scene mode...which is new to me...

Last edited by lisalonewolf; Oct 6, 2010 at 9:19 PM. Reason: oh, my sony and kodak have it...never heard of it before.
lisalonewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 9:35 PM   #3

A little of both. It's to take pics of the various food dishes I see or eat and I wanted it to be my multipurpose going out camera, something small and light and easy to carry with me.