Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 7, 2010, 1:29 PM   #1

Default Looking at Canon T2i - best budget friendly setup?

I've been doing research for about a week now and I'm pretty much set on the Canon T2i. I'm new to the DSLR realm and for all practical purposes, a photo noob. Nonetheless, I want to get a jump start learning the camera before my family goes on vacation next Spring.

My biggest hurdle to get over is deciding what lens(es) to purchase. For the most part, it will just be scenery shots and photo ops with the family. At this time, no sports or fast moving type capturing.

The budget is set at $1,200 to include all the necessities (body, lens(es), extra battery, sd cards etc.). From what I gather, the basic 18-55mm kit doesn't really get much done. I've come to found from researching is the best all around lens is the Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS but at the price point ($750) is probably a little too much.

Can anyone give me any guidance on a happy medium lens for what I'm looking for? What about the EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS (Canon has a promotion for $200 off bundle kit)?
DigitalFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2010, 2:13 PM   #2

My take would be get the two lens kit (18-55 and 55-250). I have the T2i and really like it. Get a good class 6 or 10 card at least 8 gig in size (16 is better). The battery would be a maybe or a later when you have an extra $60, the one will let you shoot several hundred (somewhere between 3&4 hundred) shots unless you use Live view and flash a ton. The kit lens is pretty good and has IS. It is just a little short for my tastes, but many live with fixed lens shorter than this everyday. This would get you started and let you see where your interests lie in terms of shooting style. Steven
waoldrifleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 2:53 PM   #3