Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 11, 2010, 9:27 PM   #1

Default Best Camera For Shooting Kids

Hi, I am looking to upgrade my old Canon ELF P&S. I am an amateur and not sure if I should be looking at a DSLR or superzoom or something else. The most important things to me are quicker shots and photo quality. We have kids and I feel like I always miss the shot as I am waiting for the camera to reload.

Thanks for the help.

Dennis
djmurray324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 11, 2010, 10:09 PM   #2

quicker shots and photo quality - my first thought would be a pentax k-x. you don't mention how far away those kids will be in general, so it's hard to know how the kit lens will work out for you. you don't mention a budget, either, but the k-x is on the low end of the spectrum pricewise. there are faster dslr's for more money.

also depending on how slow your old elf is, i suspect an olympus epl1 would be a good camera for you.
pcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 10:49 PM   #3

Good points. I am trying to keep it around/under $600. I could go higher if it was worth it The kids are young still( 4 and 1) so it's not for sports yet and the distance away won't be too far.

Dennis
Old Oct 11, 2010, 10:53 PM   #4

I agree, pcake-

...on the Pentax Kx. That's a very good choice. However, I have found the Olympus EPL1, when using the LCD for framing, becomes too slow in focusing and shooting for my tastes. There are also some bargain prices available on the Sony A500 body. The A500 has a very strong LiveView implementation if you prefer framing with the LCD.

Just two weeks ago, I was able to pick up the Sony 18-55mm kit lens and the Sony 55-200mm kit telephoto both on E-Bay for $172 delivered, which really held down the cost on my A500 kit. The A500 uses the 12mp Sony imager that is used in the Nikon D-5000, so it also has plenty of high ISO capability as well.