Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 13, 2010, 5:22 PM   #1

Default Sony a330 or Pentax k-x

Im sure that this subject has been beaten to death, but im gonna ask anyway

First, I am a first time DSLR shopper and don't have a clue what Im doing or looking for.

My local Costco has a Sony A330 with 18-55 lens (might have 2 lenses but I cant remember) for $480 right now. I know that this particular Sony doesn't do video.

I have been kicking around the Pentax KX just because it has video, which will come in handy I think.

I am not a pro or even an amateur at this point, but I would like a little guidance on which would be a better fit. I will mostly take pics of landscapes and people - maybe a few action shots. I would like to take video with it, but its not a deal breaker. I am just looking for an entry level easy to operate cam that will do a good job despite my best efforts to screw it up.

So, as far as regular pics go, which does a better job? How much would it cost to get some extra lenses with each? Which has better lens selection? Is there any better cameras with video out there for around $500?

The Sony looks to be a heck of a deal, but I think I can get a Pentax off Ebay for about the same price, although the Pentax only has 1 lens at that price. Maybe someone can help me with this life or death decision - my eyes are bleeding from reading reviews!

Thanks in advance
Marc

Last edited by mmfowler33; Oct 13, 2010 at 5:24 PM.
mmfowler33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 13, 2010, 5:35 PM   #2

The pentax k-x is the better camera, higher ISO performance, CMOS sensor vs CCD on, faster AF speed, and HD if you want.
Old Oct 13, 2010, 5:41 PM   #3