Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 15, 2010, 3:17 PM   #1

Default New to dsrl world, not a club about lenses, looking foro longish zoom

Hi, I am new to this, and being doing some research but am completely lost so will greatly appreciate your suggestions. First of all I have two kids, 5, 7. So i want a fast camera with good picture quality preferably, one i could just print withouth too much editing ( or not at all). aAt some ot my kids events i have to shoot from a distance and want to be able to see their faces, zoom is important and HD movie. And as i say fast, i want to capture what i am seeing an not what will happen later as with my point and shoot.
I have no idea about the lenses and what their numers stand for, so i can't figure out which will give me the distance i need.
I want to keep it low round 700-800 for body and lens, but could go a lintel higher if it was what i had to get what i need.

Last edited by marubex; Oct 15, 2010 at 11:14 PM.
marubex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 15, 2010, 3:47 PM   #2

What events do your kids participate in?

Keep in mind that recording video with a dSLR is much more complex that using a camcorder or even a P&S, so if that's a priority, you may want to stick with P&S digicams.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2010, 4:45 PM   #3

Thank you, but no my priority is taking pictures, but the video capacity will be a great bonus, we prefer to carry just one thing. They participare in school events such as plays as Well as horseback riding and some sports.
Old Oct 15, 2010, 5:02 PM   #4