Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 4, 2010, 12:41 PM   #1

Default Have read the forums, now ready to ask

I am a Point & Shoot maven who has decided to move on up to the SLR world. My main objective is to take amazing baby pictures (baby has not arrived yet so I have some time to practice). I am content to keep using the P&S for other purposes (for now). I canít say that money is no object but I am prepared to spend what it takes to get what I want.
After a bit of internet research I think Iím leaning towards the Canon T1i body. My understanding is that, as a novice, I am unlikely to run into whatever limitations it may have as compared to other models and, in spite of the fact that itís not the newest release, it does not have outdated or sub-par technology.
I was planning to forego the kit lens and apply the price difference to a lens that I really want. Iím thinking about the Canon 50mm/1.4. I expect to take indoor, natural light photos and I like the ones with shallow DOF and good bokeh. I figure that I can invest in a 2nd lens at the point when baby starts to become more mobile and look for something that will allow me to get a shot in spite of quick and erratic movement but for now I should be ok with the 50/1.4
Am I on the right track? These are my tentative choices based on what info Iíve gathered here on the forums but Iím certainly open to substitutions, add-ons, or general food-for-thought. Thanks for the feedback!
uclatb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2010, 1:35 PM   #2

Well, there's no perfect solution. The body is certainly a good performer as are any of the options out there from other manufacturers. I do think you should reconsider not getting the kit lens regardless of what camera you buy. A 50mm lens on an APS-C sensor camera can be restrictive in a lot of shooting situations. I think you'll regret not having a little versatility for other applications.