Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 5, 2010, 6:19 AM   #1

Default Everest trip inspiring first camera purchase

Hi there

I'm completely new to photography but keen to get my hands dirty.

I am going to Nepal in a month to do the Everest base camp hike over 3 weeks. When I come back I would like to use the camera I buy for weekend snaps out of town as well as blogging about wine and whisky.

So I guess I'm looking for something that does well with landscapes and then also medium shots in urban situtations (not knowing anything about photography).

I was told that for a first purchase it is probably best to get a point and shoot and then, only if I get more serious buy something with lenses.

I would like advice on what to look at for an hike in Nepal (thinking about what is most convenient to keep a camera when hiking, as well as issues around batteries (life and the cold)). And then of course convenience in social situations both in bright daylight and evening situations. Once again this is from someone who is very much unfamilar with all things photography.

From going online I have seen the following things recommended at the top end of point and shoot models. However a lot of reviews say that althought these are great cameras there is better value for money. What would be recommended to a start-out novice in my position?

Olympus EPL-1

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX5 / LX3
Canon PowerShot S95
Nikon Coolpix P7000
Samsung TL500 / EX1
Canon PowerShot G11 /G12
Canon PowerShot SX30 IS
Fujifilm FinePix HS10
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ100
Samsung NX100
Sony NEX-3
bobbyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 5, 2010, 7:35 AM   #2