Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 7, 2010, 5:39 PM   #1

Default bridge camera or DSLR? Please help!

Hi everyone! I may be in the market for a new camera however I'm having trouble deciding some things. I will try and make this as short as possible.

First, I have been shooting Canon rebel film cameras for about 15 years now. Though I've never had the money to get into really good lenses. The best lens I have is the Canon 50mm 1.8 lens, plus a couple of "kit" lenses that are actually pretty decent. I once had a Cosina zoom which served it's purpose but it wasn't that great. But as money became tighter over the years my film usage went way down, thus so did my photography hobby. So last year I finally got a decent P&S Canon SX120. It's a nice camera but I am looking for something a bit "more" at this point. Here's the problem, I've recently gotten into photographing birds and some macro work too, and as much as I'd LOVE to jump into the DSLR camp, I'm afraid getting good lenses to go along with a DSLR body is going to put rocket the price into the stratosphere.

So I was considering a bridge Camera like the FZ35 or 40, or the SX30, or perhaps the S200EXR or HS10...all of these would give me the reach I desire for birds and small animals but I worry about a couple of things.

1.) IQ. Are the IQ of bridge camera better than say a Canon Rebel XSi with say the 75-300mm zoom that comes in the "kits"? Or is even that lens going to be better than anything a bridge camera can give?